Thursday, 13 August 2015

What has 12 arms, 12 legs, and 12 eyes?

A dozen pirates! 

So you want to read a book with (sexy) pirates but you aren't sure where to go? The authors of #FAC16 seem to have you covered! We here at Queen of the Bookshelves know exactly what the readers want (sexy pirates) so we have compiled a nice list to help you fulfill all your (sexy pirate) needs!
Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman
Expected Publication Date: February 9, 2016
Publisher: Simon Pulse

BLACKHEARTS is a Blackbeard origin story, taking place in England, not the Carribean. It is his pre-pirate story -- and what Nicole imagines made him into the pirate that instilled fear into the hearts of all sailors.

Nicole has a PINTEREST page specifically for this book. You can also find her on TWITTER, probably talking about Poldark.

Summary: Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was just a young man who dreamed of leaving his rigid life behind to chase adventure in faraway lands. Nothing could stop him—until he met the one girl who would change everything. This is their story.

Edward "Teach" Drummond, son of one of Bristol's richest merchants, has just returned from a year-long journey on the high seas to find his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesn’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, Teach dreams only of returning to the vast ocean he’d begun to call home. There's just one problem: convincing his father to let him leave and never come back.

Following her parents' deaths, Anne Barrett is left penniless and soon to be homeless. Though she’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne is forced to take a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks, and Anne longs for escape. How will she ever realize her dream of sailing to Curaçao—where her mother was born—when she's stuck in England?

From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn to each other, they’re trapped by society and their own circumstances. Faced with an impossible choice, they must decide to chase their dreams and go, or follow their hearts and stay.

Does this sound like something you want to read? Preorder it!
The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie.
Expected Publication Date: Feburary 8, 2016
Publisher: Flux

I don't think much more needs to be said about this book other than QUEER PIRATES. Because after learning that, I pretty much scooped this up (well, preordered but still). There are also sea monsters and leading ladies that are going to rock your socks. 

Emily has been plastering her TWITTER with pictures of the story that she drew. But you can check out all her art here. She is very talented so I do suggest it.

Summary: For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters is just the family business. She’s been a Reckoner trainer-in-training ever since she could walk, raising the genetically-engineered beasts to defend ships as they cross the pirate-infested NeoPacific. But when the pirate queen Santa Elena swoops in on Cas’s first solo mission and snatches her from the bloodstained decks, Cas’s dream of being a full-time trainer seems dead in the water.

There’s no time to mourn. Waiting for her on the pirate ship is an unhatched Reckoner pup. Santa Elena wants to take back the seas with a monster of her own, and she needs a proper trainer to do it. She orders Cas to raise the pup, make sure he imprints on her ship, and, when the time comes, teach him to fight for the pirates. If Cas fails, her blood will be the next to paint the sea.

But Cas has fought pirates her entire life. And she's not about to stop.

Does this sound like something you want to read? Preorder it!
The Reader (Sea or Ink and Gold #1) by Traci Chee.
Expected Publication Date: August 30, 2016
Publisher: Putnam/Penguin

A girl in a land that forbids reading kicks ass BY reading? Yes please. And any story that uses "swashbuckle" to describe their pirates is one that I am on deck with (ha ha ha! See this is why Nicola picked me as her co-blogger, I'm just so funny).

You can find Traci on TWITTER and while you're at it, check out her setting tag on her WEBSITE so you can see what the inspiration for her book's location is.

Summary: A stunning debut set in a world where reading is forbidden, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

Does this sound like something you want to read? Preorder it!
The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig.
Expected Publication Date: February 16, 2016
Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Nicola was lucky enough to have already read this one and has stated her brief thoughts about it. There is an amazing book trailer by Sarah that will leave you wanting more. I am dreaming about it already. I know this is going to be a big one next year!

You can find Heidi on TWITTER where she is always willing to talk!

Summary: Heidi Heilig’s debut teen fantasy sweeps from modern-day New York City to nineteenth-century Hawaii to places of myth and legend. Sixteen-year-old Nix has sailed
across the globe and through centuries aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. But when he gambles with her very existence, it all may be about to end. The Girl from Everywhere, the first of two books, will dazzle readers of Sabaa Tahir, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Nix’s life began in Honolulu in 1868. Since then she has traveled to mythic Scandinavia, a land from the tales of One Thousand and One Nights, modern-day New York City, and many more places both real and imagined. As long as he has a map, Nix’s father can sail his ship, The Temptation, to any place, any time. But now he’s uncovered the one map he’s always sought—1868 Honolulu, before Nix’s mother died in childbirth. Nix’s life—her entire existence—is at stake. No one knows what will happen if her father changes the past. It could erase Nix’s future, her dreams, her adventures . . . her connection with the charming Persian thief, Kash, who’s been part of their crew for two years. If Nix helps her father reunite with the love of his life, it will cost her her own.

In The Girl from Everywhere, Heidi Heilig blends fantasy, history, and a modern sensibility with witty, fast-paced dialogue, breathless adventure, and enchanting romance.

Does this sound like something you want to read? Preorder it!
Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | B&N | Chapters | Kindle | Kobo

1 comment:

  1. I am so excited for all these pirate books!! I hear Traci's book has some sexy pirates... I can't wait to see how Nicole tells this Blackbeard-inspired story. I can't wait to meet the pirates in Heidi's book :D

    Rachel @ A Perfection Called Books